Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Stargate SG-1 Neophyte Guide (Season 1)

It's not secret I'm a big Stargate fan. I've been watching since SG-1 first aired on Showtime, and have continued to watch the series whenever possible. It's certainly my favorite sci-fi television franchise. Recent news regarding the cancellation of its latest incarnation, Stargate Universe, and the shelving of all other Stargate projects, is very disappointing. It doesn't appear there will be any new Stargate material released in the near future (except for maybe a few books and fan fiction).

I know quite a few people who have never gotten into Stargate. For whatever reason, it hasn't caught their interest, and I believe much of this could be due to the length of the series as a whole. SG-1 aired for 10 seasons, with over 200 regular episodes. It's hard for people to take the plunge and watch all that stuff.

For those of you who haven't caught on to Stargate yet, I'll be producing my own semi-opinionated viewer's guide. This will consist of listing all the episodes from each season, and rating them for both importance and entertainment value.

The color-coded ratings are thus:

Red –Major continuity episode: This is a Must-see episode, due to important story elements that impact the whole series in some way.

Green –Medium continuity episode: These episodes have events with some impact on other, future episodes, but they can be skipped without totally losing focus on the storyline. If you skip one of these, be sure to go back to it after the Red episodes get you hooked.

Blue –Minor continuity episode. These may have some minor story elements that will impact something in the future of the series, but it's not that important.

White –Non continuity episodes. These stories are stand-alone episodes, which have no influence or bearing on the future of the series.

*Episodes I personally recommend, even if they aren't high priority for continuity. These are ones I especially enjoyed.

Okay, we are ready to look at Season 1:

Children of the Gods
The Enemy Within
The Broca Divide*
The First Commandment
Brief Candle*
Cold Lazarus
Thor's Hammer
The Torment of Tantalus*
Fire and Water
The Nox
Tin Man*
There but for the Grace of God
Within The Serpent's Grasp

There we have it, all you need to pick through Season 1 of Stargate SG-1. If this helps you, check back for Season 2 next week.

No comments:

Post a Comment